International Jean Sibelius Violin Competition

The jury of the twelfth edition of the competition features Pekka Kuusisto, Wei Dong Tong, Lucie Robert, Isabelle van Keulen, Ilya Kaler, Ida Kavafian, Nam Yun Kim and Henning Kraggerud, and is chaired by Sakari Oramo. In the final rounds of the competition, the contestants will perform as soloists with the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra conducted by Dima Slobodeniouk and the Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by chief conductor Susanna Mälkki.

In the semi-finals, a solo violin piece by composer Magnus Lindberg, commissioned specially for the competition, is mandatory program for all competitors. In the final, the contestants each perform two violin concertos, one of which is Sibelius’ beloved concerto op. 47.

Päivi Pousar, Secretary General of the Sibelius Violin Competition

Link to Rules and further information on Sibelius Competition Website


Leave A Reply:



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.